Happy Thanksgiving!

Guide to a Joyful Heart

Tip of the Week:

When I was a little girl, I would call Thanksgiving “Turkey Day”. I loved all the delicious food Mamma would make for us. The house would smell of roasted turkey, stuffing, and baked pies. We would all gather together to eat, talk, and laugh. After dinner, there was always turkey left over for tasty turkey, cranberry, and stuffing sandwiches. I always looked forward to “Turkey Day”. I knew that, even if money was tight and we had been eating pinto beans and cornbread for days, on Thanksgiving Mamma would find a way to make us girls a wonderful meal.

Now that I’m quite a bit older, Thanksgiving has a much deeper meaning. Of course, we should give thanks with a heart of gratitude to our Heavenly Father on a daily basis. He takes such good care of us, and is worthy of our praise. However, it’s nice to be able to reflect on how blessed we are on this day sat aside to celebrate and thank God for all He has done for us this year. Please don’t get so busy this holiday season that you forget to count your blessings, speak them to others, and praise your Heavenly Father. It’s important to teach our children to count their blessings, as well. A grateful heart leads to a joyful heart.

Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise unto him with psalms. Psalm 95:2, KJV

Consider inviting someone to your home who hasn’t been been your guest before.

Come on in, and sit a spell. We saved a seat just for you.

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Inviting someone for Thanksgiving is a great idea. We have a new employee where I work. He always tells you when you pass him by to smile. He knocked on my door and told me it was time to eat this past Wednesday since the company was providing our Thanksgiving meal. I stopped to thank him for reminding me as I am always busy at work. We talked for the first time and I found out that he has been eating by himself ever since he was hired. I invited him to start eating with me and my son so he doesn’t have to take breaks by himself. He just moved here from the north. I’m not sure about his family situation but I’m going to take your advice and find out if he has anywhere to go for Thanksgiving. I do know he is a veteran and that’s someone we should always be thankful for.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

