Being Content

Guide to a Joyful Heart

Tip of the Day:

Let our conversations (way of life) be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for He hath said; I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. Hebrews 13:5, KJV

Be content.  That is so much easier said then done.  We want new shiny things, beautiful things, things that will bring us joy.  However, God says be content.  Covetousness, to want what someone else has, is a sin.

Jesus taught us to be content.  There’s always going to be something newer, shinier, prettier.  If we are continually running after the newest, best thing, we will never appreciate what we have.  We are also saying to God, “what you have given me is not enough”.  God’s beauty is all around us.  A daisy doesn’t say I’m sad, because I don’t have the regal beauty of a rose, but delights in her own simple beauty.

The point is God made us beautiful in our own way.  He knows our needs, even before we ask.  He will bless us as he sees fit.  New shiny material things are short lived, Jesus brings peace and joy that is everlasting.  He will never leave you or forsake you, Dear One.

2 thoughts on “Being Content

  1. You are definitely talking to me today. My car is in the shop again and I want a “new car” desperately. I’m tired of being on the side of the road, no air conditioning, and no radio. But if it can be fixed again I should just be happy. The windows still roll down so I really do have air conditioning and the noises it makes should be music to my ears lol. God gives us what we need.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

