Natural Product for Treating and Preventing Worms, Mites, and Lice in Chickens

You probably already use Diatomaceous Earth (DE) on your chickens, and other animals.  If you do and haven’t used it recently, this is a reminder.  During the summer months, chickens and other animals are more susceptible to these parsites.

However, if your don’t know about Diatomaceous Earth (DE).  It is a natural product from the cell walls of fossilized single-cell diatoms, which is grounded into a very fine powder.  Make sure you purchase the FOOD GRADE type.   Please do your own research on DE before purchasing or using it.  I am not a veterinarian or medicial doctor.

That being said, this is how I use DE on my chickens.  I mix it in their feed every 6-8 weeks to prevent worms.  Importart: Do not use DE on young chicks.  In addition, I dust my chickens to prevent mites and lice.  I also spread a covering aound my coop and run to remove odors and prevent flies.  To help me remember, I do all of these things at the same time.

Futhermore, I also use DE on my dogs to prevent worms and fleas.  I feel good knowing I’m using a natural organic product, instead of using the chemical based products.

brahma pic

Leave a Reply

