An Egg-cellent Comparison

My first Brahma chicken egg had double yokes!  I was super excited when I broke open the shell to find double yokes.  What a happy surprise.

double yoke egg.jpg

The following picture shows a visual comparison between a store bought egg (top) and my fresh egg (bottom two yokes).  I hope you can see the difference.  I first noticed the color.  The store bought egg is paler and washed out; where as, the fresh egg is much richer in color.  Second, I noticed the size.  The store bought egg yoke is larger than one of the fresh egg yokes.  However, when you combine both of the fresh egg yokes it would be larger.  As soon as our chickens start laying regularly I will do a post on the taste comparison as well.

compare eggs.jpg

Leave a Reply

